Safari/Apple SCAM

Hi There,

I went to Pinterest.com as I usually do, but this time I got the message below:

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 2.17.37 PM.png

Being that I have a lot of pictures and documents on my laptop I didn’t want to loose them so I called the number.  I was skeptical, because it seemed a little too convenient that out of all the times I go to this site a day this is the time that has “suspicious activity.”

The phone went to a few different automated prompts before  a live person answered. The gentleman that answered the phone’s name is David.  He never asked for my computer ID as I was expecting.  I asked if he was with Apple and  he said he was an authorized fixer, but I couldn’t make out the company name.

I followed his initial instructions of force quitting all the programs except finder.  The red flag came when he had me re-open Safari and go to a Citrix Screen Sharing session.  I asked why he needed to see my screen.  He said it was so that he could see the issue and fix it for me.

I asked if this would cost money and he said yes.  I started cussing him out and saying that that is why I asked him why he needed to see my screen.  He said he had to disconnect because I was being unprofessional.  I hung up.

I got off the stopped the screen sharing as soon as I could and started writing this post.

I don’t want anyone to get scammed.  He didn’t get my account info or a payment from me, but other people might just hand over the information.

It is so scary that this activity is border-line legal.

Has this happened to anyone else?

Love,

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 10.03.43 AM

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

